CHOOSE YOUR ADVENTURE

www.china.org.cn
http://www.china.org.cn

DAILY PROMPT


Choose Your Adventure


Write a story or post with an open ending, and let your readers invent the conclusion.



I was late. Never had I been as late as I was today.

Sure, there was a reason.

The traffic had been ensnarled for blocks. What on earth was a tractor-trailer doing trying to negotiate these streets?

The torrential rains made it almost impossible to see even if you were walking. Debris was floating down the streets faster than the cars were moving.

The torrents of winds had decimated my umbrella within seconds of offing the taxi and trying to run the rest of the way.

But I knew the consequences of being late.

The red light was still blinking as I got to the side door. Was that good or bad?

I paused… Took a deep breath… Firmly gripped the knob… And entered….



In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Choose Your Adventure.”

4 thoughts on “CHOOSE YOUR ADVENTURE

  1. The moment my foot crossed the threshold, it sounded as if a million alarms went off, high-screaming so loudly that I buried my head in my arms. The sound was unbearable. I tried to back out, but the door had closed behind me and I couldn’t get it open. I was so disoriented by the noise of the alarm sirens that I didn’t know what to do next.

    I was helpless. I was on the ground in fetal position. I had no idea what was going on.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

