I AM A ROCK

www.dreamstime.com
http://www.dreamstime.com

DAILY PROMPT  


I Am a Rock


Is it easy for you to ask for help when you need it, or do you prefer to rely only on yourself? Why?



I take after my father,” Just get out of the way and let me do it.” I have (I hope) grown beyond that mentality in most things.

If I do not know what I am doing, or if what I am doing is not taking me to the places that I want to go, I know to ask for help. I find people who have accomplished the task that I want to accomplish and I ask for assistance. That is the smart thing to do. I do this at work to become a more skilled educator, at play to become better at the hobbies I am pursuing, and in my own personal growth. Having a skilled mentor allows one to enjoy the efforts needed to succeed at great deal more!

This story is a great illustration of the need to know when to ask:

“A little boy was having difficulty lifting a heavy stone.

His father came along just then.

Noting the boy’s failure, he asked, “Are you using all your strength?”

“Yes, I am,” the little boy said impatiently.

“No, you are not,” the father answered.

“I am right here just waiting, and you haven’t asked me to help you.”

– Anon

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “I Am a Rock.”

One thought on “I AM A ROCK

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

