I Want A 5K Trail!

appscout.pcmag.com
appscout.pcmag.com

DAILY PROMPT


Blogger with a Cause



If your day to day responsibilities were taken care of and you could throw yourself completely behind a cause, what would it be?


If I had to throw myself behind a cause that I would make a meaningful change in the world, I would throw myself behind …. Wow…. I even googled the top charities in the world to see if there would be a charity that I felt I could ‘throw myself completely into’….

There are so many worthwhile charities in the world. And I am so grateful for the people that dedicate themselves to each of them. I assist many of them with donations and/or fund-raising. But for me to want to dedicate my life to a ‘cause’… that just is not happening.

I am a person-to-person type person. I like small circles of friends and making an impact on a small realm of influence.

I am not a world changer.

In fact, I do not think it is possible for a person to ‘change the world’…. I do believe that one life can make an impact on another life for the good.

Therefore, I would seek to change the quality of life for a few of the residents of my home town by asking the town council to complete a sidewalk building project. I would like the town council to complete the walking trails around the neighborhood so that you could walk an entire 5K-plus around the town and not have to leave the sidewalks by being forced to walk into people’s yards.

The neighbor in which I live is a small neighborhood. It is likely to grow because a Wal-Mart has just been assigned to our town. I suspect that with the new businesses coming to town, a complete and finished sidewalk project will be in the works. But as for now. to walk a neighborhood 5K, a person needs to cross into seven (or more) yards (complete with dogs) and cross a four lane and a six lane though affair. This increases my discomfort to go walking more often…and if you noticed my waistline- I need to walk daily!

Please, town manager and town mayor….. Get on board with completing our neighborhood sidewalks. If dreams could come true, get on board with a town-based effort to encourage walkers by sponsoring several 5Ks for the town – – – Or even a marathon event!

Thanks you for your time,

A wanna-be 5Ker

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Blogger With a Cause.”

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

