Childhood Revisited

kyweathercenter.com
kyweathercenter.com

DAILY PROMPT


Childhood Revisited


Sure, you turned out pretty good, but is there anything you wish had been different about your childhood? If you have kids, is there anything you wish were different for them?


Dad seemed to have a green thumb.

I remember some springs and summers that he would have three or four gardens all cultivated and planted. During harvest, we would continue to work all the gardens and even visit blueberry patches and raspberry patches and blackberry patches that were hidden in the woods.

At Grandmother’s, we would find an assortment of bushes and flowers that Dad had started. He kept them trimmed and growing until the Grandparents had passed away.

I think Dad could stick a branch in the grown and a tree would grow.

At 90 years-plus, Dad can still grow a variety of houseplants on the back deck.

I wish I knew as much about horticulture as Dad seems to instinctively know. But alas, I grow things by the book. I research –either before the purchase or after- each and every planting. In gardening, spontaneity can have a price! I have often had to pay the price for ineptly planting a plant at the wrong place. (Dad never seemed to have to pay such a price. But Dad had 100s of acres at his hand… I have a much smaller palate.)



In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Childhood Revisited.”

One thought on “Childhood Revisited

  1. I greatly admire that kind of innate skill with gardening. I’m experimental and often learn through trial and error. Right now I have two dirty thumbs! I’ve been in the garden dirt all week. I hope something emerges and turns green.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

