World Encounters

www.evolutionezine.net
http://www.evolutionezine.net

DAILY PROMPT


Worldly Encounters


The friendly, English-speaking extraterrestrial you run into outside your house is asking you to recommend the one book, movie, or song that explains what humans are all about. What do you pick?



If friendly, English-speaking  extraterrestrials would happen to knock on my door early one morning and ask me to recommend a book, a movie, and a song that would somewhat explain the human race to new-comers (outsiders), these are the three artifacts that I would recommend that they study to get an honest grasp on humanity:

The book that I would recommend would be To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. As young people, Scout and Jem have to find a way to embody a society of both good and evil into their world views of the human condition. Atticus Finch shows that mankind can overcome the evils of the world and find honesty and integrity in his life without losing faith and becoming cynical.

I would recommend the movie Braveheart. This movie would show that “man” desires and deserves to live as free individuals without the infringements and violations of an over-reaching government. It would be good for friendly extraterrestrials to realize the lengths that mankind will go to maintain his freedoms! (I suspect that there is good and evil in every society- even friendly extraterrestrial societies- so now they are forewarned!)

I would recommend the song One Tin Soldier. This song personifies mankind’s need to possess things- sometimes at terrifying costs. It also represents that mankind can sometimes disappoint itself. Thank God for men like William Wallace (Braveheart): men who will sacrifice their all to reestablish a just world.

Note to friendly extraterrestrials: I have been upfront about the human conditions of mankind. You are forewarned.



In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Worldly Encounters.”

5 thoughts on “World Encounters

  1. A forewarning! Great selection — I haven’t heard “One Tin Soldier” in so long. I love that song. “Braveheart” is my favorite movie (and I love the soundtrack, too). And somehow, in all my studies of English, writing and literature, I have never read “To Kill a Mockingbird.”

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

