To Sleep, Perchance to Dream

www.clipartpanda.com
http://www.clipartpanda.com

DAILY PROMPT


To Sleep, Perchance to Dream


Sleep is one-third of our lives: write a post about it. Do you love naps? Have trouble falling alseep? Wish you could remember your dreams? Remember something especially vivid? Snuggle under a blanket, or throw the windows wide open? Meditate on sleep.



Sometimes I wonder what our Maker was doing when we were created to need one-third of our lives as down time. So many people struggle with finding their true purpose in life, yet so few ask, if our purpose or zeal for life is so important to the integrity of the survival or those around us (or for the bold thinking- the survival of the human race), why do we need to sleep so much just to keep our body in sync with the rest of creation?

I sleep. Even when I was a night owl in college, I knew the difference between the semi-creative works of an all-nighter and the well-thought-out execution of a true plan. The sleep deprived can pull off a success every now and then… and I will even admit that it may be sometimes necessary, but a lifestyle of all-nighters will not continue to be fruitful.

I love naps. Some of my best ideas are conjured from naps. I have been a lover of power-naps for years. (I had one this evening!)

I have no trouble falling asleep. I am like one of those tilt dolls. Once my head relaxes in a reclined position, my eyes go automatically shut.

From college graduation to about five years ago, I could vividly remember a dream (or more) from every night and every nap. Now, not so much. I suspect that I am not sleeping as deeply as I once was sleeping. I now sleep in three to four hour shifts.

Recipe for a Power Nap: Snuggle under a light blanket add one open window with a breeze (or a fan or air conditioner)… wait three to five minutes and you will hear a sweet , adorable snore… or so I am told?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “To Sleep, Perchance to Dream.”

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

