Full of Surprises

blogging-university-blogging-101-2.png?w=860 blainecindy.com
blogging-university-blogging-101-2.png?w=860
blainecindy.com

Writing 101: Building a Blogging Habit


DAY 5: Be Brief


ASSIGNMENT:

Today’s Prompt: You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.

Today’s twist: Approach this post in as few words as possible.



imgkid.com
imgkid.com

Finally, mowing day. The first of the season.

While gassing up and backing the mower out of the shed, I noticed the leaves that have accumulated in the corner of the shed behind the bride’s wreath bushes.

Using the rake to declutter the corners of the pillars and behind the shrubs, a small blue envelope emerges in the small collection of lawn litter.  The classical written name had been weathered and smeared.

Ms. Adatabanks.

She was my recently deceased widow lady that had lived next door to me as long as I had lived here. She and her husband had had no children.

I had assisted her with her yardwork. She never allowed anyone to help her with the flowerbeds. “They need that tender touch form someone who loves them,” she had said.

Had the letter been previously opened? It was torn. My curiosity got the best of me.

Ms. Adatabanks had passed. What was there to still keep private?

Opening the envelope, I began to read.

 

 My dearest Mother,

It has been years since we have been in touch and I….

 

I paused as I tried to decide… Should I continue reading…?



Written for Writing 101: Building a Blogging Habit.

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.