Busy-ness versus Purpose-Filled-ness

blogging-university-blogging-101-2.png?w=860 blainecindy.com
blogging-university-blogging-101-2.png?w=860
blainecindy.com

Writing 101: Building a Blogging Habit

DAY 1


ASSIGNMENT:

To get started, let’s loosen up. Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.


Keep typing (or scribbling, if you prefer to handwrite for this exercise) until your twenty minutes are up. It doesn’t matter if what you write is incomplete, or nonsense, or not worthy of the “Publish” button.

And for your first twist? Publish this stream-of-consciousness post on your blog.



The Difference between Busy-ness and Purpose-Filled–ness

www.people-results.com
http://www.people-results.com


Dictionary.Reference defines the word busyness as a lively but meaningless activity. If this is true, I wonder why there are so many people in the world who with vigor and vitality declared almost every single day of their lives… I am so busy that I don’t know what to do. Do they realize that they are saying their lives have been overtaken by meaningless activities- They have no true purpose to live!



I have come across this problem personally in my attempts at intervention to find times to set aside for personal writing. I keep telling my mind- as a way of confession and asking for absolution- I am just too busy in my day to find the time to start my new young adult novel. The research necessary,,, the skill-sets that I still need to hone… I am just way too busy.

Thank goodness I do not allow myself to think of the impertinent phrasing of busyness when it comes to my everyday ventures of life.

In my everyday endeavors… I am a purpose-filled man. I live life- from morning until dusk- fulfilling task completion. Even though this may sound very anal to you… It is mostly true.

I keep a list of everything. I have a set aside list for future groceries on the kitchen table. I have a list of daily chores that need to be checked off – or ***- or smiley faced- when they get completed. I have a list of items that need to be completed for school. I have the listings of what sporting games are on what nights for my evening’s entertainments – actually this list is written and posted on a calendar until the month of September! (It is early April, now. … Very Sad… I know.)

I like to think of myself as not driven for a goal… but my feet are directed in the path that I desire to go… as long as I am completing the things recorded on my lists… I am reaching my ultimate goals.

I am so driven my purposefulness that I meet with myself once every three weeks to re-align my path toward the goals. I recheck what I have accomplished… which tasks have fallen through the holes… which tasks need to be moved more near the top of the list… and off I go.

I think that if I could think about my writing in the same PURPOSEFUL MANNER instead of the word BUSYNESS coming to mind when I think of writing.. I would get closer to the goal of storyboarding my ideas and filling out the frameworks for undertaking future writing assignments.


I have five minutes left… I think I should proof-read my work so that I do not go over the allocated 20 minute requirement on the first assignment. Yes, I have to change the assignment… I can’t just free write and then press publish… At least a minute time of proofreading is needed. But I will try to stop at 20 minutes.  Yeah! It was 21 minutes to compete! I think that was OK!


Written for Writing 101: Building a Blogging Habit.

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

