Farooq Frog Befriends Sahib Scorpion

settlementperspectives.com
settlementperspectives.com






Farooq Frog Befriends Sahib Scorpion

A Re-telling of an Aesop Fable


Early yesterday morn, it happened. As Sahib Scorpion stood along a steep embankment regarding a navigational path across Cajuco River, he spied Farooq Frog freely sunning himself after a much deserved afternoon swim.

Inquiring from others about passage to cross the river, Sahib found none.

Sahib envied Farooq’s renowned abilities; accessing a crossing of Cajuco at whatever entry point he wished.

Sahib asked Farooq if a possibility of obtaining a lift might exist.

This troubled Farooq a little. Farooq provided himself instantaneous passage anywhere along Cajuco he desired.

Farooq- aptly named knower of right and wrong- experienced a quandary. To take Sahib could mean death. To refuse, meant Farooq admitted fear of being neighborly. In Farooq’s family, neighborliness belonged as a high ranking attribute to which others would pay much homage.

Farooq granted Sahib personal passage. Sahib never doubted that this would happen. Sahib- aptly named Lord Master- knew intricate ways of manipulating people.

About midway across Cajuco, Farooq finally asked a most troubling question, “What if I am stung? Do I have guarantees?”

Sahib chuckled,” If I sting my personal liberator, what of me? I will become deceased as well.”

However, with three-quarters of passage completed, Sahib stung Farooq.

Soon Farooq felt the paralyzing effects of the venom. He would soon be gone.

“This is your undoing as well, my friend?” Farooq murmured with a last breath.

“I know. It is in my nature. I cannot do other than this,” replied Sahib.

With that… They both found their nirvana.



The original from which I extracted this story:

The Scorpion and the Frog

  A scorpion and a frog meet on the bank of a stream and the

scorpion asks the frog to carry him across on its back. The

frog asks, “How do I know you won’t sting me?” The scorpion

says, “Because if I do, I will die too.”

 

  The frog is satisfied, and they set out, but in midstream,

the scorpion stings the frog. The frog feels the onset of

paralysis and starts to sink, knowing they both will drown,

but has just enough time to gasp “Why?”

 

                        Replies the scorpion: “It’s my nature…”

Related information:

http://www.spectacle.org/995/scorp.html

http://www.aesopfables.com/cgi/aesop1.cgi?4&TheScorpionandtheFrog



In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Three Letter Words.”

2 thoughts on “Farooq Frog Befriends Sahib Scorpion

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

