It’s April Fool’s Day

Prankster Kid.  Credit: Liza McCorkle/Getty Images
Prankster Kid. Credit: Liza McCorkle/Getty Images


DAILY PROMPT


Fool Me Once


It’s April 1st!

Pull a fast one — publish a post that gently pranks your readers.


I don’t recall that I have ever been a great advocate of the April Fool’s Day pranks. That does not mean I did not sometimes pull horrid tricks on my friends in an earlier life. (I have grown out of that reprehensible phase- mostly.)

Here are some of the prank that I remembered:

PRANKS I REMEMBER FROM GRADE SCHOOL

  • “Hey, your shoes untied.”
  • “Did you know your shirt (or pants) has a hole in the back?”
  • Taping a sign on a kid that says, “Kick Me, Please.”
  • Putting shaving cream on my bunkmates hand and then awakening him.

PRANKS I REMEMBER FROM JUNIOR HIGH

  • Setting the alarm clock one hour early.
  • Setting four different alarm clocks and hiding them all over a bedroom.
  • Putting salt on a toothbrush.

MY ALL-TIME FAVORITE

  • Supergluing a coin to the cafeteria floor before school starts and then watch the fools. (I might still do this one?)

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Fool Me Once.”

10 thoughts on “It’s April Fool’s Day

  1. We did sometimes reset clocks, turned out lights, and crept out into the hall to trick sleeping students. My favorite, though, was smiling as I gazed at a sleeping macho student, then when the whole class was paying attention, quietly saying, “My mother was right. They are all angels when they’re asleep.” Huge laugh and very puzzled now-awake student.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

