Just for You, Mom

PHOTO PROMPT ©David Stewart https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/
PHOTO PROMPT ©David Stewart https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/

“You do know how much money this is? Especially if you never play it after the first two weeks.”

“Yes, Mom. But it’s just like what Dad played. Every evening, one hour or more. I promise.”

My new, well-used Getzen, Eterna B-Flat Trumpet went home with me.

*********

“Let me tie that. You look fantastic, Sweetie.”

“I told you that I would be playing in The Commons this year.”

“I know, son.”

“Wait until the third song. Yours and Dad’s favorite song, My Favorite Valentine. I’ll be playin’ it for you, Mom.”

“Honey, your dad would have been so proud.”



Written for Friday Fictoneers: Requirements: Use of the Photo Prompt and 100 words.

18 thoughts on “Just for You, Mom

  1. I keep saying this, but the sweetness oozing because of that photo is just wonderful. There’s so much poignancy in what you wrote. Everything you read nowadays has a rough edge. You come to expect it. Such a nice change.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Let me see, fallout from my children re abandoned musical instruments — trumpet, guitar, saxophone, flute, piano.
    I love your story, because it’s about a child who has persevered with learning an instrument long enough to bring pleasure to another.
    Sweetly told.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

