Not All Houses Are Homes

forums.soompi.com
forums.soompi.com

My book bag –Old Navy, camouflage – was in the back: four sets of clothes, sneakers, and a set of tightly, rubber-band bound envelopes. My life: assorted letters, and two photographs, from the last three years. That was everything, except for my Riptunes MP3. I was listening to Bastille: Things We Lost for the umpteenth time.

We were watching for a large white SUV driven by a balding, older man and his grey-haired wife.

My ninth home: a new family- this one much older. I was ready: eyes- dry, dulled, unexpressive. New starts aren’t what they’re cracked-up to be.


Written for Carrot Ranch Communications: The Flash Fiction Challenge: Requirements: 99 words. Topic: Causes of Disorientation.

3 thoughts on “Not All Houses Are Homes

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

