The Gurney

Photo Credit: Tamara Kane
Photo Credit: Tamara Kane

“This is your last warning. Anything else, and I mean anything, and you’re finished here.”

Great! How will I explain this to Amanda? She already thinks I’m a loser, and here I’m getting ready to get fired from morgue-transport. It’s not like people are lining up to push dead bodies.

Pushing through the double doors I walk over to the ‘welcoming center’. I pick up the black marker and the accompanying tan toe tag. Walking back, I look down at the gurney I had just left, I was stunned. Where did he go?

From the 100 Word Prompt: Written for NaNoWriMo 2014.

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

