Deep Calling Deep

Caution: Radiation Controlled Area. Creative Commons 2.0 photo by Oleg.
Caution: Radiation Controlled Area. Creative Commons 2.0 photo by Oleg.

“Sit, my brother.”

I sat.

We were both quiet. Silence was nothing out of the ordinary. More the half of the brothers have taken this vow of silence since ‘the incident’. Vespers had become musically bereft. Only eleven of us still spoke. Once Brother Francis’s self-imposed isolation had been officially recognized, the discontent, the disillusionment, had spread.

We all felt it. The kidnapping, then murder, of forty-five of our junior seminary students had created a question of conscience that none of us could answer.

After three weeks I was still in a haze. I had been spiritual advisor  to seven of the lads. Where was God in this?

Brother Simone broke the silence. “What is it that you seek, my brother?”

“I need to experience God. I need to find the God of Shadrach. I need my own Babylonian experience.”

Brother Simone nodded. “I will not stop you.”

With bowed head, I stood. I knew, if I were to find answers, where to find my fiery furnace.

A Flash! Friday prompt written during NaNoWriMo 2014.

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

