Ah, Sweet Beethoven

“Please, Ms. Claudia, Sit up straight. Elbows in. You’re not on the ball field.”

You could have at least changed clothes before you came for your piano practice. There’s still line chalk from the diamond on your lavender pinafore. Look at your nails!

caruso_with_phonograph2
Caruso with phonograph, early 1900s. Baen photo owned by LOC; no known restrictions.

“Here. One more time.”

My last student of the day. I don’t know why Mrs. Rockefeller continues to expect me to turn this tomboy into a lady. Blood only runs so deep and this niece is nowhere close to the river. I stifle a chuckle. That’s exactly the smell… Hudson River backwash.

Gently raising the needle on my Victrola I placed it again on the indentations: Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata. “Listen. Find the passion.  You have to feel the music.”

A car door. Saved. The chauffeur to take Ms. Claudia back to Kykuit.

Rushing to the kitchen, I immediately plopped on the floor beside his wooden crate. Apparently I had awakened him. Ah, sweet Beethoven. 

Written for Flash! Friday (Requirement: A puppy)

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

